Kansas Judicial Branch Home
Kansas Courts
Kansas Judicial Branch

The Kansas Supreme Court
301 SW 10th Avenue
Topeka Kansas 66612-1507

Office of Judicial Administration
Fax:  785.296.7076
Email: info@kscourts.org

Appellate Clerk's Office
Fax:  785.296.1028
Email: appellateclerk@kscourts.org

Kansas Court of Appeals Judges

 Court of Appeals Judges

Front row left to right: Judge G. Joseph Pierron Jr., Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger, and Judge Henry W. Green Jr.
Middle row left to right: Judge Michael B. Buser, Judge Thomas E. Malone, Judge Stephen D. Hill, and Judge Steve Leben.
Back row left to right: Judge Kathryn A. Gardner, Judge Anthony J. Powell, Judge G. Gordon Atcheson, Judge Melissa Taylor Standridge, Judge David E. Bruns, Judge Kim R. Schroeder, and Judge Sarah E. Warner.

The Court of Appeals has 14 judges who are appointed by the governor. Prior to July 1, 2013, the governor made appointments by selecting one of three qualified candidates provided by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission. Beginning July 1, 2013, appointments are made by the governor and require confirmation by a majority vote of the Senate.

Judges serve four-year terms and are retained for successive terms by public vote. One Court of Appeals judge serves as chief judge. The chief judge assigns judges to panels, determines venues for arguments, and designates cases for each panel. Prior to July 1, 2014, the chief judge was appointed by the Kansas Supreme Court. After July 1, 2014, the chief judge will be elected by the judges on the Court of Appeals following a procedure of their choosing.

Court of Appeals judges ordinarily do not conduct trials. They decide appealed cases by reading the trial record and written briefs filed by the parties, and hearing oral arguments of lawyers. They research and review laws involved and write opinions that usually are published in bound volumes.

The following judges currently serve in the Kansas Court of Appeals: